

September 8, 2009

Partnership for New York City

The Honorable David A. Paterson Governor of New York Executive Chamber State Capitol

Albany, New York, 12224

Re: Comments on Draft 2009 New York State Energy Plan

Dear Governor Paterson,

The Draft 2009 New York State Energy Plan ("the Plan") is an important document, reflecting your commitment to securing a cleaner, more reliable, and affordable energy supply for all New Yorkers.

The business leaders who comprise the Partnership for New York City share the goals outlined in this Plan, including expanded use of renewable energy and reduction in greenhouse gas emissions. Our members place a high priority on maintaining the diversity of the State's electricity generation and agree with the Plan's affirmation that New York should increase our nuclear generation capacity in order to achieve affordability and clean energy objections.

We want to express concern, however, with one recommendation within the Plan which seems to undermine key objectives. I refer to the recommendation to oppose relicensing the Indian Point Unit 2 & 3 reactors when their licenses expire in 2013 and 2015, respectively. Indian Point has been consistently found to be safe by all professional evaluations. The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) deemed Entergy able to safely manage both reactors for another 20 years in the first half of their final study released in August 2009.

The New York City metropolitan region receives over 2,000 MW of power from these Indian Point units, accounting for almost 40% of the region's electricity supply. Alternative sources of supply, even if they could be brought on line, would be more costly and more polluting. They could also prove far less reliable:

Co-Chairs Lloyd C. Blankfein K. Rupert Murdoch

Vice ChairsCandace K. Beinecke
Kenneth I. Chenault
Terry J. Lundgren

President and CEO Kathryn S. Wylde Stephen Berger
William H. Berkman
Jeffrey L. Bewkes
Kathy Bloomgarden
Kevin Burke
Russell L. Carson
Robert B. Catell
Stephen J. Dannhauser
James Dimon
Brian Duperreault

THE DATE OF THE PARTY.

Roger W. Ferguson Laurence D. Fink Alan H. Fishman Jay Fishman Thomas Glocer Barry M. Gosin Jonathan N. Grayer Robert Greifeld Glens H. Hutchins Jill Kaplan Jill Kaplan Robert P. Kelly Jeffrey B. Kindler Klaus Kleinfeld Henry R. Kravis William P. Lauder Rochelle B. Lazarus William M. Lewis Martin Lipton John J. Mack Donald B. Marron Harold McGraw, III Dennis M. Näll Duncan L. Niederauer Vikram S. Pandit Michael Patsalos-Fox Jeffrey M. Peek Lynn Pike Peter J. Powers Vikki L. Pryor Steven Rattner James D. Robinson, Ili Wilbur L. Ross, Jr. Michael J. Roth Steven Roth Howard J. Rubenstein Barry Satzberg Linda S. Sanford Stephen A. Schwarzman Jerry I. Speyer Sy Sternberg John A. Thain Mary Ann Tighe James S. Tisch John B. Veihmeyer Mark L. Wagar Seth Waugh Christopher J. Williams

Robert Wolf Deborah C. Wright Tim Zagat Mortimer B. Zuckerman

Founding Chairman David Rockefeller

Ex-Officio Members David W. Heleniak Stephen Howe, Jr. Honorable David A. Paterson September 8, 2009 Page 2

The State should keep all energy options on the table when looking to diversify our energy portfolio, particularly when focusing on non-greenhouse gas emitting sources. We urge you to reverse the recommendation of the Plan and work to win community support for this crucial energy production resource.

Sincerely,

Kathryn S. Wyłde President & CEO